Just leave it out

The songs in my head are either on repeat from hearing them from a day earlier and getting stuck, or, my subconscious is trying to tell me something or help me heal from something.


Fit But You Know It – The Streets
As I am changing my ways to follow a healthier regime, I ponder whether I will repeat the changes in behaviour a few acquaintances made during their health changes. Will I be a new person when I am more fit, personality-wise? I noticed that those people became more arrogant and aggressive when they went from over 120-150kg to 70-80kg. I recall being sometimes arrogant in the past and wonder will I repeat this behaviour pattern, or be innately the same whole person. Time will tell.


Under Pressure – Queen
As I develop new skills, older talents, gain respect and create an image that I am a creative person, I spiral upwards and am expected to act and produce at a certain level. I’m all for growing, but with great power comes great energy bills.. and responsibility.
I hope to perform well to the standards I’ve set and not disappoint those that rely on me. “The terror of knowing..” more, more rely on you for advice, experience and seek you as a source of inspiration.


Since I Left You – The Avalanches
“Since I left you, I saw the world so new” – Clearly a break-up/reminiscing song. I’ve come a long way in the last three years, more mature and more confident. Finding out what I can and shouldn’t say. I do like to push conversations further than mundane “How’s the weather?” topics as I usually find these topics utterly boring and nearly torturous. I prefer topics that explore the psyche or social conventions that many a Kevin Smith movie has done. I’ve become more responsible in the last year than ever before, but I still have a long way to go, especially if I expect to succeed in my chosen career. I am also developing my survival skills, albeit, much slower. Even though I am pushing myself to escape my comfort zone, I am finding resistance to the changes, and will often, as many people do: Procrastinate.


Frontier Psychiatrist – The Avalanches
This song is only on this list because it’s so damn catchy, and that video clip is so bizarre. We saw it on a monitor at the local pub one Friday, and all conversations went dead as we were transfixed on the strange, yet wonderful, imagery – It’s “crazier than a coconut”.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

